Photo credit: St. Albert Slash (Twitter)

Slash advance to 2018 Esso Cup

RED DEER - The ’Road to the Esso Cup’ is complete for the St. Albert Ron Hodgson Slash, who will defend their 2017 Esso Cup title after defeating the Greater Vancouver Comets in the Pacific Regional Championship.

The St. Albert Ron Hodgson Slash and Lethbridge Midget AAA Hurricanes both won the Pacific Regional Championship to advance to the Esso Cup and Telus Cup, respectively.

The Slash defeated the Greater Vancouver Comets for the second straight year, winning the three-game series two games to one.

St. Albert took game one 4-2 and lost game two 4-2, before edging the Comets 1-0 to claim the Pacific Regional banner for the second straight year.

The 2018 Esso Cup runs April 22-28 in Bridgwater, Nova Scotia.

Comments (0)


Slash repeat as champions at 2018 Esso Cup

BRIDGEWATER, N.S. – The St. Albert Slash became the first team in Esso Cup history to repeat as back-to-back champions, defeating the Saskatoon Stars 2-1 to win gold at Canada’s National Female Midget Championship.

“It was pretty amazing, nothing can beat it,” St. Albert Slash captain Tyra Meropoulis, of Edson, said of her feelings after the game. “Winning two in a row is unbelievable. It is such an amazing feeling.”

After suffering a 4-1 loss to the Stars in the preliminary round, the Slash rebounded in the championship game by opening the scoring with just under three minutes remaining in the first period. Late-period goals were the key to the team’s success, as St. Albert took a 2-0 lead with less than one minute remaining in the second period. The Stars cut the deficit in half 47 seconds into the third period, but could not find the back of net as time expired.

“[St. Albert] did a great job. An absolutely great job,” said Greg Slobodzian, head coach of the Saskatoon Stars. “We haven’t been pressured like that in a long time. Our girls didn’t know how to handle it at the beginning, but I thought we answered really well in the third period. It could have went either way."

Meropoulis led the Slash with one goal and one assist in the final, while veteran Madison Willan of Edmonton recorded the game-winning goal in the second period. Jayme Doyle of Calahoo also registered one assist in the game.

Goaltender Camryn Drever of Edmonton made 14 saves on her way to securing the win, while Mackenzie Butz of Sherwood Park earned player of the game honours for St. Albert.

Comments (0)


Photo credit: Two Point Photography and Design

AFHL hands out 2017-18 league awards

RED DEER – The Alberta Female Hockey League is pleased to announce the 2017-18 league award and scholarship winners.

Four awards are handed out in each league: Most Valuable Player, Top Goaltender, Top Rookie, and Coach of the Year. One award is also given for the AFHL Administrator of the Year.

Bantam Elite

Most Valuable Player: Jenna Goodwin, Sherwood Park Royals
Top Goaltender: Ali Kieren, Calgary Fire White
Top Rookie: Jayde Cadieux, Lloydminster Jr. Steelers
Coach of the Year: Kath Surbey, Calgary Fire White

Midget Elite

Most Valuable Player: Sydney Benko, Calgary Fire Red
Top Goaltender: Holly Borrett, St. Albert Sharks
Top Rookie: Hayleigh Craig, Lethbridge Cyclones
Coach of the Year: Tom Molloy, Calgary Fire White

Midget AAA

Most Valuable Player: Bella McKee, Lloydminster PWM Steelers
Top Goaltender: Camryn Drever, St. Albert Slash
Top Rookie: Josie McLeod, Rocky Mountain Raiders
Coach of the Year: Paul Pozzi, Rocky Mountain Raiders

Administrator of the Year

AFHL Administrator of the Year: Steve Hughes, Lloydminster Minor Hockey

AFHL Scholarship Winners

The Alberta Female Hockey League annually presents four scholarships; two to graduating players from the AFHL as well as two to young women currently attending post secondary and who are giving back to the game through coaching or officiating. All of these scholarships will be awarded to help off-set the costs of pursuing a post secondary degree at the institution of their choice.

The AFHL received an overwhelming response to the scholarship fund and recipients were chosen from an extremely deep pool of applicants. Finalists were chosen based on their strong academics, positive contribution to their team as well as their involvement with their community.

Offical: Emily Hill, Olds College
Coach: Tricia Van Vaerenberg, University of Lethbridge
Midget Elite: Alexis Pfeffer, North Central Impact
Midget AAA: Mackenzie Butz, St. Albert Slash

Congratulations to all AFHL Award winners and scholarship recipients!

Comments (0)


Photo credit: Rob Wallator


Photo credit: Rob Wallator

St. Albert Slash set for Pacific Regional Championships

RED DEER - The Road to the Esso Cup continues for the reigning champion St. Albert Ron Hodgson Slash this weekend, as they head to Richmond for a re-match of last year’s Pacific Regional Championships with the Greater Vancouver Comets.

The Slash defeated the Comets in last year’s Pacific Regional Championships en route to an Esso Cup championship.

Games one and two are scheduled for Friday at 5:45 p.m. and Saturday at 12 noon, with game three set for Sunday at 1 p.m., if necessary. The 2018 Esso Cup runs April 22-28 in Bridgwater, Nova Scotia.

Comments (0)


Photo credit: Dave Watling Photography

Calgary Fire White win Midget Elite Provincial Championship

RED DEER - The 2017-18 Alberta Female Hockey League season officially came to a close on Sunday, as the Calgary Fire White skated away with the Midget Elite provincial banner.

As the host team of the 2018 Hockey Alberta Provincial Championships, presented by ATB Financial, the Fire skated to a 2-0 win over the St. Albert Sharks to win gold in front of their home crowd.

Meanwhile, the Calgary Fire Red claimed the bronze medal with a 4-1 win over the Sherwood Park Fury.

The Midget Elite Provincial Championships marked the end of the AFHL season, with the St. Albert Slash and Calgary Fire White winning the Midget AAA and Bantam Elite titles, respectively, the weekend prior.

Comments (0)